Albanese Government Names Greg Combet as Future Fund Chair

The Albanese Government has selected the Hon Greg Combet AM as the new Chair of the Future Fund Board of Guardians for a five-year term. With a distinguished career encompassing investment, superannuation, government, and expertise in climate and energy transformation, Mr. Combet is poised to bring a wealth of experience and fresh leadership to the Future Fund. His notable roles, including Chair of IFM Investors and service on the Executive Board of the National COVID‑19 Coordination Commission, highlight his extensive background in both the public and private sectors.

Simultaneously, the government has made additional appointments to enhance diversity and expertise within the Future Fund. Ms. Mary Reemst will serve as the Acting Chair until Mr. Combet officially assumes his role, while Ms. Nicola Wakefield Evans AM and Ms. Rosemary Vilgan are appointed as part-time members. These appointments, with a focus on gender diversity, are expected to rejuvenate the Fund's leadership and maintain a high level of skills and experience on the Board. The government expresses gratitude to outgoing members Peter Costello, John Poynton, and John Fraser for their significant contributions to the Fund's success.

Source: Treasury Ministers Australia